Sick of Being “Good”

Standard

Do you ever feel SO sick of being responsible and “good” that you feel yourself go off the deep-end on a regular basis with your food choices? Sometimes I do!

betelchurch.org

betelchurch.org

Most of us try SO hard to raise good, honest kids, eat meals as a family, get everyone to their activities, be good partners, daughters, nieces, etc. that we lose our spirit.

At the end of the day, all I want is a little quiet time, but what I often get is a longer “to do” list than I care to admit.

What’s the solution?

Unfortunately, there isn’t one simple solution because we all have different likes, dislikes, needs, and desires.

Some women may need to give themselves room to let go of their “good girl” rules and restrictions for one day and come back feeling rejuvenated the next to get them through the rest of the week.

Other women may need to stop judging themselves so harshly in every single detail of their lives and find another outlet, other than food, to unleash frustration (like kickboxing!).

I’ve learned when I feel deprived of certain foods, I often feel angry and dissatisfied. (Dieting isn’t a good strategy for me.)

I turn to food when I want a reward. Eating sweets makes me 🙂 at first, but the sugar leaves me feeling crabby later on and that’s not the type of person I want to be 😦

My solution is finding healthy, sweet substitutions that are lower on the glycemic index that I can have whenever I want. (Hence all the sweet treats under “recipes!”)

As a mobile personal trainer working one-on-one with women, I provide education about integrating safe, effective exercise and making healthier food choices on a daily basis. In the process, some very meaningful conversations spark around women’s emotions and food associations.

My #1 goal is to educate.

My #2 goal is to be supportive. (I think pressure and judgments make things worse.)

In the end, sometimes all women really need is to feel supported and understood.

One thought on “Sick of Being “Good”

Leave a Reply

